Bowel obstruction

Share Print
Adresse

Switzerland

Christian Toso
Professor
Christian Toso
Head of Division

Bowel obstruction (or ileus) is defined as the abnormal cessation of the transit of gas and stool . Bowel obstruction occurs following the blockage (mechanical ileus) or paralysis (paralytic ileus) of the intestine. If the site of the obstruction is located in the small intestine, bowel obstruction is named small intestine ileus. If the site of obstruction is located in the colon, bowel obstruction is named colonic ileus. The diagnosis of bowel obstruction requires an abdominal CT scan.

The causes of this obstruction are multiple: a «cord» of fibrous tissue, scar adhesions (following a previous intervention or infection), hernias, cancers, drugs, and others.

Symptoms and risks related to intestinal obstruction

The symptoms of bowel obstruction are discontinuation of bowel transit, abdominal bloating, nausea, and vomiting. The content of the gastro-intestinal system, as well as its secretions, can no longer flow downwards into the digestive tract and end up by going back to the stomach.

The main risks are the inhalation of the digestive contents into the respiratory system (broncho-aspiration), as well as the necrosis of part of the digestive tract which can lead to perforation. To avoid these two complications, the immediate treatment consists in the insertion of a nasogastric tube in order to empty the stomach of its contents and to avoid broncho-aspiration.

Conservative or surgical treatment of intestinal obstruction

Depending on the cause of the obstruction and the presence or absence of severity factors, the surgeon can opt for conservative management (nasogastric tube and ingestion of radiological product) or for surgical treatment. The latter is usually done by laparotomy , due to the increase in the size of the digestive tract caused by the occlusion, but can sometimes be performed by laparoscopy , under general anesthesia. The removal of a segment of the intestine can sometimes be necessary. Then, depending on the patient's condition, the digestive tract may or may not be reconnected with, if necessary, a temporary or permanent ostomy .

Necrosis
×
Dead tissue
Nasogastric tube
×
Catheter passed through the nose to reach the stomach
Laparotomy
×
Open surgery of the abdomen
Laparoscopy
×
A surgical technique using small incisions and insertion of a camera
Ostomy
×
The surgical connection of a segment of the digestive tract to the skin outside its natural location.
INFO +  Ostomy
Last update : 23/07/2021

Occlusion intestinale

L’occlusion intestinale (ou iléus) se manifeste par un arrêt anormal du transit des gaz et des selles. Elle survient à cause d’un blocage (iléus mécanique) ou d’une paralysie (iléus paralytique) de l’intestin. Si le siège de l’occlusion se trouve sur l’intestin grêle, on parle d’iléus grêle. S’il se situe au niveau du côlon, on parle d’iléus colique. Le diagnostic nécessite un scanner abdominal.

Les causes de ce blocage sont multiples : bride (« corde » de tissu fibreux), adhérences cicatricielles (suite à une intervention antérieure ou une infection), hernies, cancers, médicaments, etc.

Les symptômes et les risques liés à l’occlusion intestinale

Les symptômes d’une occlusion intestinale sont un arrêt du transit, un ballonnement abdominal, des nausées et des vomissements. Le contenu du système digestif ainsi que ses secrétions ne peuvent en effet plus s’écouler dans le tube digestif et remontent jusqu’à l’estomac.

Les risques principaux sont l’inhalation du contenu digestif dans le système respiratoire (broncho-aspiration), ainsi que la nécrosemort de tissus d’une partie du tube digestif pouvant se terminer en perforation. Pour éviter ces deux complications, le traitement immédiat consiste en la pose d’une sonde nasogastriquesonde passée à travers le nez pour rejoindre l’estomac afin de vider l’estomac de son contenu et éviter la broncho-aspiration.

Traitement conservateur ou chirurgical de l’occlusion intestinale

En fonction de la cause de l’occlusion et de la présence ou non de facteurs de gravité, le chirurgien ou la chirurgienne peut choisir d’orienter le patient ou la patiente vers un traitement conservateur (sonde nasogastrique et ingestion de produit radiologique) ou vers un traitement chirurgical, sous anesthésie générale. Ce dernier se déroule habituellement par laparotomiechirurgie ouverte de l’abdomen, en raison  de l’augmentation de volume du tube digestif provoqué par l’occlusion, mais peut être parfois réalisé par laparoscopietechnique chirurgicale utilisant de petites incisions et une caméra. L’ablation d’un segment d’intestin voire la création d’une stomie abouchement chirurgical d’un segment du tube digestif à la peau en dehors de son emplacement naturel
INFO + Stomie
sont parfois nécessaires. Ensuite, en fonction de l’état du patient ou de la patiente, le tube digestif peut être ou non reconnecté avec, si nécessaire, une stomie temporaire ou définitive.

Dernière mise à jour : 14/08/2020