On the 2015 roll of honor

Whether through election to a scientific society, an honorary award or a prestigious publication, several employees of Geneva University Hospitals - from all departments - have found themselves centre stage. Some examples.

Dr Stéphane ArmandFondation Leenaards awarded one of its Prizes to an innovative biomedical research project in which Dr Stéphane Armand, from our kinesiology laboratory, is heavily involved, and which focuses on improving physical performance in children with paralysis.

Pr Thierry BerneyElected to the presidency of the European Society for Organ Transplantation, Prof. Thierry Berney, chief physician of the transplant department, is also chairman of the Swiss Society and Treasurer of the International Association.

Leo BühlerHead of the cell therapy laboratory, Prof. Leo Bühler was appointed President elect of the International Xenotransplantation Society.


Georges CimarelliA clinician, teacher and initiator of new therapeutic education concepts, Georges Cimarelli received the Servier Prize. It was awarded to him for his technical, educational and people skills in his approach to diabetes.



Dre Nathalie Farpour-LambertA pioneer in the fight against child obesity and head of the Obesity Prevention and Care Program, Dr Nathalie Farpour-Lambert was elected chair of the European Association for the Study of Obesity.

Pr Jean-Michel GaspozChief physician of the primary care department, Professor Jean-Michel Gaspoz received the Rose d’Hôpital prize awarded by the Swiss Association of assistant physicians and specialist registrars. This award recognises initiatives in the field of postgraduate medical training and working conditions.


Christiane HelaryChristiane Helary, a clinical nurse specialist, received an award from the French Diabetes Society, after her presentation of the implementation of a therapeutic education programme in Cameroon.

Dre Anne Meynard Assistant physician at the young people's health unit, Dr Anne Meynard was elected chairperson for the European Region of the International Association of Adolescent Health.

Pr Arnaud PerrierProfessor Arnaud Perrier, medical director, was elected to the scientific committee of the Swiss federal body responsible for the distribution of highly specialized medicine (MHS).

Pre Claire-Anne SiegristHead of the HUG vaccinology centre, Professor Claire-Anne Siegrist was awarded the City of Geneva's "Culture and Society" prize in the science category for the excellence of her work.

Dr Hubert VuagnatHonouring the work carried out in the medical rehabilitation department, Dr Hubert Vuagnat received the Edward Lowman Award from the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine. He is the first ever non-American winner.


Dr Habib ZaidiAs the physicist in charge of the instrumentation and neuroimaging laboratory, Dr Habib Zaidi received the 2015 Sir Godfrey Hounsfield Award from the British Institute of Radiology for his innovative work in medical imaging.

Last update : 21/11/2018