Distiction - rapport d'activité 2016

The 2016 honors roll

Whether through a nomination to an academic society, an honorary award or a prestigious publication, several HUG members of staff from a variety of disciplines have been in the limelight. Here is a selection.


Lucia BlalAt the Swiss Association for Wound Care’s convention, Lucia Blal, a specialist nurse, obtained the public award for her poster on implementing a palliative care concept during terminal arterial insufficiency




Nathalie BochatonA clinical nurse specialist in neonatology, Nathalie Bochaton was recognized during the careArt Basel 2016 trade fair for her project to improve the extravasation measurement of peripheral venous catheters




Christoph CzanetzkiDeputy head physician in the anaesthesiology department, Dr Christoph Czarnetzki won the best research prize awarded by the Swiss Anaesthesiology and Resuscitation Society




Sandy DecosterdA clinical nurse specialist in oncology, Sandy Decosterd received an encouragement award, attributed by the Swiss Oncology Care Nurses’ Association. This distinction is in recognition of a brochure produced to inform and help patients to cope better with their cancer treatments




Ariane GiacobinoDeputy head physician attached to the genetic medicine department, Dr Ariane Giacobino has been elected to the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences’ Central Ethics Commission




Adrian GuggisbergDeputy head physician attached to the neuro-reeducation department, Professor Adrian Guggisberg and his PhD students received the 2016 Pfizer Award in recognition of their work on factors that predict better recovery of motor function and language after a stroke



Laurent KaiserA double whammy for Professor Laurent Kaiser, from the infectious diseases department, who received one of the Leenaards Foundation Awards for research into a new antiviral technology and an award from the Naef Foundation for in vitro research to develop an alternative to using laboratory animals for research into cold viruses




Christian LovisPhysician/head of the medical informatics department, Professor Christian Lovis was elected president of the European Federation of Medical Informatics




Nicolas MachHead of the clinical research unit of HUG’s Dr Henri Dubois-Ferrière Dinu Lipatti Foundation, Dr Nicolas Mach and his project group won one of the five SAKK/RTFCCR/Gateway Research Grant research awards




Didier PittetHead of the infection control and prevention department and director of the WHO collaborating centre for patient safety, Professor Didier Pittet was one of TEDxPlaceDesNations’ guests




Jean-Dominique VassalliChair of the board of the HUG Private Foundation (FR), Professor Jean-Dominique Vassalli was named Best Manager in the science and education category by the University of Oxford’s Socrates Nomination Committee




Barbara WildhaberA children’s liver transplant specialist, Professor Barbara Wildhaber, physician/head of the paediatric surgery department and director of the French-speaking Swiss paediatric surgery university center (FR), was appointed as a member of the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences

Last update : 29/01/2024