HUG pool: emergency medical care

Share Print
Image
Pool HUG

 

During natural disasters or serious health crises, the Directorate for Development and Cooperation (DDC) may be called upon to deploy the Swiss Humanitarian Aid Corps (SHA) in the country in question. To rescue victims, the SHA mobilises the Swiss Rescue Chain, with a team of around a hundred people.  

The HUG offers a pool composed of medical, paramedical, administrative or technical staff for emergency care. These people may be mobilised at any time and must be able to reach Zurich within six hours.

Other actors in humanitarian aid (ICRC, MSF) may also be supported during emergency missions by employees having previously received basic training, delivered by HUG experts in humanitarian medicine. 

Over the course of the last few years, the HUG has most notably been mobilised during the earthquakes in Haiti (2010) and Nepal (2015), and during the Ebola epidemics (2014-2015 in West Africa, and again in 2018-2019 in the DRC). In 2020, a HUG team was sent to Libya by the SHA after a devastating explosion in the port of Beirut.

Last update : 10/03/2022

Pool HUG : l’aide médicale d’urgence

Partager Imprimer

Lors de catastrophes naturelles ou de crises sanitaires graves, la Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC) peut être appelée à déployer, le Corps suisse d’aide humanitaire (CSA) dans le pays concerné. Pour secourir les victimes, le CSA mobilise la chaîne suisse de sauvetage, qui compte une centaine de personnes. 

Les HUG disposent d’un pool composé de personnel médical, paramédical (infirmier, sage-femme, etc.), administratif ou technique en soins d’urgence. Ces personnes sont mobilisables en tout temps et doivent pouvoir rejoindre Zurich en six heures.

Les autres acteurs de l’aide humanitaire (CICR, MSF) peuvent également s’appuyer lors de mission d’urgence sur ces collaborateurs qui ont reçu au préalable une formation de base délivrée par les experts HUG de la médecine humanitaire. 

Au cours des dernières années, les HUG ont notamment été mobilisés lors des tremblements de terre en Haïti (2010) et au Népal (2015) et lors des épidémies d’Ebola (2014-2015 en Afrique de l’Ouest puis en 2018-2019 en RDC).  En 2020, c’est au Liban qu’une équipe des HUG a été mobilisée par le CSA suite à l’explosion dévastatrice survenue dans le port de Beyrouth.

Dernière mise à jour : 30/08/2021